top of page
Search
  • rfrost987

The missing months

My apologies that I have not blogged for nearly 2 months, it has been a very busy time. I wanted to share a little update on what has been going on over these last 2 months.

Firstly I have been busy with work, corps life in lockdown seems very busy, with people needing to be called and resources needing to be written and distributed, food parcels being prepared and videos being filmed, as well as the hundreds of other jobs that you do not think of at first sitting but that take up the time each week.


Work may have been very busy but it has also been very enjoyable, the meals at Kirkcaldy corps for the school kids has been something I really enjoyed, something that you could see a need being fulfilled almost instantaneously, and watching the kids walk down the street with their parents or carers knowing they were getting a meal but also perhaps picking up a kids alive was something that made me smile even on the days when the cleaning took a long time.



Next Luke and I have tried to make time for each other and have been traveling to see each other twice or three times a month. We are a household bubble and so are permitted to do this, but living 2 hours away from each other means that whilst we enjoy the days we get to spend with each other, they are also long days and make you more tired than you were before the weekend.


Finally I have been busy with some candidates application things. For those who don’t know, I am in the process of applying to be a Salvation Army officer (or minister). This process is quite lengthy and very thorough. It involves regular interviews, lots of personal reflection, study and preparation and a MASSIVE application form which I completed a week ago (and at 12,640 words is the longest piece of written work I have handed in).


But I have also been trying to take some time for myself, practicing music particularly piano and a little clarinet, trying to do some more arranging for band and for songsters, doing more exercise as the weather has become more pleasant, and reading more books, both devotional and secular.


Most importantly though, I have been spending more time with the Lord. It may only be a few minutes here and there throughout the day, or half an hour spent in the Word each Sunday preparing for the next week, but this time with God has been such a blessing.

Having said all of this I fully intend to try and write and blog more regularly from now on and to get back into the discipline of writing!.


25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page